a cork board


to be blind to yesterday
PMpMon, 05 Apr 2010 20:33:58 +000033Monday 1, 2010, 8:33 pm
Filed under: the ether, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I have always been a person who tried to understand both sides to every argument. my mother told me that there were always two sides to every story, and I took that to heart. There is always a sequence of events that can make a certain rationale or mindset seem logical and worthy of a lifestyle or an action to any one person.

something that has been bugging me for sometime now is this new idea in modern society that the past doesn’t matter. there are hoards of people nowadays that don’t seem to have concern for the origin of things. whether it’s music or politics or anything else, people just don’t care about real-world origins anymore. I don’t want to say it’s a generation thing, because it’s not. it’s way bigger than that.

my discontent with this topic is compounded by sporadic conversations with my cubicle-compdre at work. I want to start by saying that I appreciate fresh perspectives and individuals who are willing to discuss them openly without taking offense. I’ve always been of the belief that nothing can prepare you for the present more than knowing the past. you have to know where you come from, even if that means the plight of your people or the suffering handed out by your people, you have to know. I’m flabbergasted day in and day out by the things that come up in our office talk. last week I learned she has no idea what Malcolm X’s contributions to modern living and thought are. she also was lost at the mention of The Black Panthers. Now I’ve never read books or seen movies on Malcolm or even studied the Panthers, but I do have a solid understanding and respect for their contributions.

I’ve also always known that there was an audience for mindless music and a group of people (a sect if you will) who prefer beats, flows and overall sounds to any type of content. I for one, have always (always) preferred music that said something, whether that be personal expression just ideas. well, I also learned today that she has not one iota of respect for Tupac Shakur’s music or poetry and what it represents. She also hates K’naan’s ‘Wavin’ Flag’ and would rather listen to ‘Bad Romance’ by Lady Gaga. Everyone is entitled to their preference, I have ALWAYS respected that and STILL DO. but a complete lack of respect and even consideration for moments, people and events that shift/ed time in one way or another puts me at a major level of uneasiness. she didn’t even know about the Biggie & Pac feud until she saw the movie ‘Notorious,’ which in the end may prove to be a good thing.

I want to say here that this co-worker knows I am writing this. I told her I was, and she encouraged me to. but I’m sitting here and trying to understand what the benefit of being ignorant to history can be. how one can find complacency in not caring how you were given the freedom that you enjoy everyday, i will never understand. I know as a people (Indian, Black,White, Latin, Chinese, etc.) we need to move forward with our trains of thought. And the only way we can do that is by NOT holding grudges from the past. Maybe being oblivious to the civil rights movements is the way to go? Maybe it’s not? I sure as hell believe in understanding that the atrocities and/or injustices suffered yesterday are the things that framed today; I’d also like to know the revolutions and rallies that shifted tides.

it is important to understand  these things, not to live in the past, but to be knowledgeable of its mistakes so that we can prevent them for now and for coming generations. if we don’t remember our mistakes, we are bound to repeat them. so I vehemently believe that it is our duty (as human beings) to know and never forget these things. Jewish people are absolutely right to make sure no one ever forgets the holocaust, but they are even more right in learning from it and moving forward (maybe I’m wrong for even bringing that up). what I do know is that our fighters, philosophers, poets and leaders of the past did not fight for our us as a people to have their voices lost in generations of trend-setters. to me, the real trend-setters understand the past and the very actions that allowed them to set that trend.

I think I’ve said enough on that for now….

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

love you and your beautiful familia, jogi. great thoughts..

Comment by laraboz

What I seem to always have an issue with is whether this “remembering the past” applies just to societies as a mass or to people, because “forgive and forget” is also something pretty prevalent in relations with friends etc. We assume people’s ability to change and grow and become “bigger” people, so we “forget” what they’ve done. And yet with cultures and societies it is all about remembering, ie. bringing it up every moment… “well, germans did this to the jews,” “well, stalin did this to these people,” “well, y did this to x”… and we say this is a way to stop it from reoccuring, but does it really? How are societies and people different? How is mass memory and personality different from unitary memory and personality? Does the mass perspective grow and change? And if it does then is it really okay to forget the past and just move forward? But then that is considered ignorance. Or should it be called a “second chance”?

Just a few thoughts, since this is something that’s also often on my mind.

This is Arina by the way… 🙂 I have a blog here on wordpress as well, and I saw you post this on facebook so I came to check it out. I’m at http://kharlamovaa.wordpress.com… if you’re interested of course. 🙂

Comment by kharlamovaa

I hear you loud and clear Arina! I think as people it’s impossible to forget, but it is a nice sentiment to hold onto (being able to forget). memories are engrained, especially personal ones. but even if you are able to forget, I think we should be forgetting the small things, the ones that don’t change the course of things. sure, people get upset and say and do things they don’t mean. they do things before they learn better…these things we can forget. but I think with the “bigger picture” it’s about knowing what got you there. because things are the way they are because of a sequence of events, and we need to know that. but people seem unable to remember AND move forward at the same time…so maybe it’s futile to expect us to. people hold grudges and forget that maybe we know better know now, that we’ve grown.

I don’t know, I guess there will always be a north and south pole to this discussion. but I sit at the table of the equator, and we should all be there, drinking wine and admiring each other.

and hey Arina. it’s been along time. I just added to my blogroll. thanks for welcoming me to this wonderful world of thought-sharing.

Comment by Yogi

Drinking wine at the equator sounds like a wonderful solution to the problem of memory 😉 haha..

🙂 Thought sharing is really where all these discussions begin, so the more people sharing the better. Glad to have you here 😀

Comment by kharlamovaa

As a fellow Cubical Monkey just a few feet away, I say your observations speaks volumes about the ‘new’ curriculum in schools. Yes parents have a big part to play in showing their kids the world and what is right an wrong, but since this co-worker obviously will be ‘useless’ in the history department or culture department when it comes to parenting, it is up to the school system to do a better job in the future. And if she is a product of the ‘Best they can do’ God help the world of tomorrow and I’m glad I wont be around when her offspring rule the world.

Up.

Comment by Liasis




Leave a Reply

