a cork board


When I Met Her
AMpMon, 22 Nov 2010 11:44:55 +000044Monday 1, 2010, 11:44 am
Filed under: poems, the ether, the mirror, Uncategorized
 
 
 
 
When I Met Her
 
I met her while I was chasing my dreams
she was a statue of fortitude and strength
when the wind whipped and rain hurled
I saw her as the green patina colored woman
standing on Ellis Island epitomizing liberty
 
over the years I’ve seen her grow
into something to be admired
she said to me “I can’t wait ‘til you arrive”
and it meant the world to me
I kept building and building
I made her into a fortress
after some time the distance grew shorter
we became closer as friends
and I was able to see the cracks
in the foundations of her pavement
I was able to see the salt-stained
streaks of tears tattooed across her cheeks
I bore witness to the sadness
that balanced out the stoicism
that balanced out the fervor
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
I met her while I was chasing my dreams
she was an unspoken shadow
draped in veils of mystery
she spoke in 2 minute stanzas
tales of love woven in secrecy
 
I do not covet what I do not understand
so I gazed from corners
and took in her web-work of words
after some time we became close
a friendship bloomed much like
a season of summer in its timing
we only spoke in stanzas and dreams
and it was only after time
that I began to see that sadness
hung from the sunshine in her eyes
it was only later that I noticed
the violins playing behind her silhouette
but it was too late by then
she is far gone and I am enveloped
in things that make me smile
the damage has been done and
there is paint thinner on these walls
you can tell me otherwise,
but I can smell it
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
I met her while I was chasing my dreams
she was sitting on the sidewalk looking up
vodka pouring out of her red eyes
I saw her like a crow in flight
dark beauty spread across the sky
with sunlight blasting through her wings
 
her eloquence was indestructible
when she spoke she evoked trees
spilling leaves of loneliness
and love through her fingertips
she burned bright as a beacon
for everything that was misunderstood
I told her I wanted to get to know
the person behind the effigy
and she told me about her father
she whispered about her mother
and cross-hatch sketched her childhood
as she did this, the image in my mind
of a phoenix blazing atop the sun
simmered to a portrait of a woman
vulnerable and brave and whimsical
her footloose frame on life
was a landscape of admiration for me
and now it is sheer captivity
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
she has so many faces
I have met her so many times
I see her when I chase my dreams
chiseled statuettes of women
standing as tall as their words
as mysterious as their metaphors
I painted them into murals beyond human
and shadowed expectations
that could never be attained
sometimes she falls to earth
as a fallen leaf would
gentle, easy and with a whisper of strength
other times, she falls as a meteor
tearing the earth from beneath my feet
and I am left wondering why
I ever cast them into the stars to begin with
maybe it’s because I met her
while I was chasing my dreams
riding shooting stars and comets
 
dreams are worlds made of everything
the imagination can behold
and reality sets in when I awake
to emaciated frames of grandeur
and she holds me in contempt
for holding her so high
off the ground
as if she a
firefly

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

