a cork board


Letting It Be
PMpThu, 11 Aug 2011 12:40:40 +000040Thursday 1, 2010, 12:40 pm
Filed under: the ether, the mirror

You have to let people be who they are. I’ve never been one to try and change anybody. But I believe that as we learn things in life, those new things that we learn will cause us to view the world differently. In turn, our behavior changes because out thought-pattern changes. It’s all cause and effect, so because perceptions change then the actions we take will take on different faces too. All of this can start to take place as a result of a single conversation with a single person. So, if one was so inclined they could go around using Jedi mind-tricks on people and change people into things they want to see. But I digress, you have to let people be.

Especially in work environments, at work you have to pick and choose which aspects of your personality come out and which ones need to stay hidden away. I wish I worked in an atmosphere where I could be myself. I work for an empowering women company and I am the only male in an office of about 20 women. It’s all good, I have no problems with that. But my sense of humor just does not go over so well around here. I can’t make a certain jokes, or a “tasteless, man joke,” because then I would be messing with the order of things. But some people get it while others just don’t, so I get to carefully gauge how I behave around people.

I bring this up because today I was reminded that some people become set in their ways and their views on life. I try to keep an open mind and realize that life teaches us something every single day, all you have to do is pay attention. So we never stop learning right? But some people become so acclimatized to their mode of thought and (for whatever reason) afraid of something new that they get stuck. I know there must be a history in that person’s life that would serve as a reason to explain this habit. But I was talking about something with someone and she just said “that’s life.” Yeah, that’s life, but through discussion and openness my Wife & I have learned overcome some of these roadblocks (or hurdles) that are called “life.” Look, I lose my patience pretty quickly sometimes, but I have been trying to learn to talk it through. That’s a priceless thing to do because that ensures that your mind never goes stagnant, you never get stuck in one place and you are always learning. But you have to be open to it. If you’re not open to it and you don’t have that patience to talk through it then you just give up. That’s why so many people give up on things that have solutions.

But like I said, sometimes you have to let people be they way they are for your own sanity’s sake. You cannot approach certain dialogue with them or you will simply upset yourself. I know this must have been a bit of a rant, but I had to get it out. After a few encounters with people today I found myself in a real funk. So I gathered my thoughts on what was driving me into the wall over and over again. I hate it when people are so short-sighted. And if you get to realize that someone is just that way, then all you can do is let them be and choose how you are going to be in order to keep the peace with them at work and in life. And, all you can be is yourself….regardless of how much of that “self” you are being at any given time. Cheers.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

