a cork board


A Poem a Day for 30days – The National Poetry Month Writing Challenge
PMpTue, 03 Apr 2012 22:11:28 +000011Tuesday 1, 2010, 10:11 pm
Filed under: events

Okay, so National Poetry Month happens during all of April. There are a lot of things happening related to poetry from the 1st to the 30th. If you want to attend events or hear some readings then this month there should be something happening every day of the month at various places around where you live. Just find a website for National Poetry Month and some events are bound to be found.

The reason why I am writing about this, is that there is a challenge that a poet may or may not choose to take on. That’s writing brand new poem every day of the month. I don’t know how official it is as a challenge, but I know that for years I have watched fellow poets and friends try it. It’s an awesome challenge because we get to test our range when it comes to writing and really push ourselves and how we think of writing while exploring different styles. And this year I have finally decided to take on the challenge. I missed April 1st and 2nd, but I’ve decided to get rockin’ and rollin’ on April 3rd with an attempt to write 3 poems. I got 1 in progress and 1 completed.

 

My goal here is to post atleast 1 poem every single day….which also means more regularly scheduled posting from me. I hope you enjoy reading along because I’m really looking forward to testing myself and exploring different ideas and seeing what comes out of me…the first one is on it’s way.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

