a cork board


NaPoWriMo – Day 1
PMpTue, 02 Apr 2013 16:53:56 +000053Tuesday 1, 2010, 4:53 pm
Filed under: poems, the ether, the mirror, the sweetst thing, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

I haven’t blogged or written a poem in months. Since my daughter was born in July of 2012 I took a voluntary and very intentional step away from writing and performing. I’ve been living miraculous moments and have decided to spend most of my spare time with my family. With that being, lately the page has been calling me back. I’ve been going through a lot where I’m questioning the relevancy of my voice, what I have to say and if it even matters in the world. I know my son looks up to me in ways that are incredible. I know that the 2/3 times he has seen me on stage, there is a sparkle in his eye that uplifts me. So, even if it’s just him that I uplift, I have to write. I used to write to uplift myself, then through poetry slam I tried to uplift the community and the world, then it was my relationship with my wife and now it’s my kids. So, with the page calling me again and my muse ready to make another appearance, I have decided to take on the NaPoWriMo writing challenge once again this year. I tried it last year and I learned a lot about myself, I made it to 22 days (I think). I have no illusions of making it all the way to 30, considering I haven’t written in months. I just want to re-ignite my purpose and my inspiration. I want to kick-start my voice. So, if you’re reading/following, thank you. I have no idea what is going to be coming, but I’m sharing the journey and I hope we can all find something in it that is real and inspired….here is my poem from yesterday.

Day 1/Poem 1

What Matters Most

If I ever let go

of things that lift me up,

I will have to

stand on my own.

 

Without the people

that lift me up

I will have to

stand as a tree.

 

Though I know

self-worth is

embedded in self-love,

I feel I will be amiss

without the community

that holds me up.

 

I fear that I have made

a forest of crutches

from people that I love.

 

When leaves become brittle,

branches left bare

and bones droop

too low to stand strong,

I lean on them.

 

When pressures of

day to day

become overcast skies,

I smile with my children

and hug my wife.

They light up my heart.

 

I look at my family

in amazement.

I wrap my arms

around them.

Thank the Almighty

for all of my blessing.

 

For they hold me together,

whenever I feel broken.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

