a cork board


NaPoWriMo – Day 3
AMpSat, 06 Apr 2013 08:30:25 +000030Saturday 1, 2010, 8:30 am
Filed under: poems, the sweetst thing, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Little Lessons For Us Both

 

I’m not used to being admirable,

but he looks to me as if I were the sky.

My son sees my daily actions as models

for what he supposed to do.

 

My anger, my joy, my sorrow.

My draped shoulders and dragging feet.

He sees everything as a prime example

for how he should behave.

 

For now, I am his role model.

So I teach him without words

as best as I could.

I make my bed in the morning,

fold my clothes in the evening

and wash my dishes after eating.

 

But most importantly,

I try to pull my anger

back down and ground it

before it elevates into the clouds.

I do my best to bring my voice

back to earth

when I get frustrated.

For I want to teach him to

deal with conflict without anger.

 

For my son,

I am the model of a man.

So I’m trying to exhibit compassion,

understanding, patience

and so many other traits that

make a person adaptable to the world.

 

And I can see his head hang low sometimes.

I see his shoulders fold in as he mopes away.

It is those moments that I sit down with him

and talk him through his feelings.

To help him understand things.

And he wipes his tears,

looks up at me, hugs me tight

and tells me he loves me

before laughing and running off

to grab hold of his favorite toy.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

